Solo works

On Fire

From Patches

After spending some time in Poland and learning the history of jazz in this country, I was amazed to hear about the struggle the jazz musicians had to go through but like every struggle, great things come from it. This CD is the rusult of a real cultural exchange between Polish and American musicians, uniting two musical worlds, without boundaries.


LINER NOTES by A. Scott Galloway



  1. On Fire
  2. Child in me
  3. PatcheSteps
  4. Northern Star
  5. Feeling Good
  6. Shibuya Drive
  7. Rainy Night
  8. New Jazz Groove


Michael Patches Stewart – trumpet, flugelhorn

Robert Kubiszyn – moog bass,frettless bass,keyboards,perc, ,perc programming

Kenny Garrett – alto sax

Henryk Miśkiewicz – alto sax

George Duke – rhodes,moog lead solo

Nick Smith – keyboards

Paweł Tomaszewski – rho des

Paul Jackson Jr. – guitars

Marek Napiórkowski – acoustic guitar

Raul Midón – voc

Dorota Miśkiewicz – vocalise

Poogie Bell – drums

Michał Dąbrówka-drums


Robert Kubiszyn

Recorded place

Sound and More Studio

DreamCatcher Studio

Nieustraszeni Łowcy Dźwięków Studio

A 24bit/88.200kHz digital recording


Robert Kubiszyn and Rafał Smoleń

Additional recording

Darek Grela


Robert Kubiszyn


Rafał Smoleń at Sound and More Studio


Denis Blackham Skye Mastering


Rafał Masłow

Art Direction:

(imię I nazwisko grafika )

Production Coordinator

Małgorzata Zalewska


Fans of both Patches and Grammy Award winning bassist and producer Marcus Miller have long wondered when the two would team up on a project. With the arrival of BLOW, the wait is over — all tracks were produced and arranged by Miller. This album showcases Patches astounding trumpet playing, and boasts guest artists LeDon Bishop, MC Lyte, Kenny Garrett, DJ Quik and Will Downing. “Blow” includes new recordings of Stevie Wonder’s “Overjoyed” and Herbie Hancock’s “Tell Me a Bedtime Story.”



  1. Gumbo (intro)
  2. Blow
  3. I Know What You Like (Funki-Jazzi)
  4. Overjoyed
  5. We Be Gettin’ Down
  6. Don’t You Know Will Downing, Guest Vocalist
  7. Road Song
  8. Cruisin’ MC Lyte, Guest Vocalist
  9. Congo Square
  10. Tell Me A Bedtime Story
  11. No More
  12. Gumbo (Outro)


Patches Stewart – Trumpet, Flugelhorn, Vocals

Steve Baxter – Trombone

Poogie Bell – Drums

LeDon Bishop – Vocals

Donald Blackman – Vocals

Dean Brown – Guitar

Roger Byam – Sax (Tenor)

Carl Cyrius – Vocals, Engineer

DJ Quik – Beats

Will Downing – Vocals, Guest Appearance

Kenny Garrett – Sax (Alto)

Diane Gordon – Vocals, Background Vocals

MC Lyte – Vocals, Guest Appearance

Marcus Miller – Organ, Guitar (Acoustic), Clarinet, Guitar, Percussion, Piano, Scratching, Clarinet (Bass), Drums, Guitar (Bass), Keyboards, Piano (Electric), Sax (Soprano), Sax (Tenor), Vocals, Vocals (bckgr), Choir, Chorus, Clavinet, Moog Synthesizer, Producer, Engineer, Vibraphone, Executive Producer, Fender Rhodes, Bass (Upright)

Tonni Smith – Vocals

James M. Walker – Flute


Marcus Miller, David Isaac(Co-Producer)

Executive Producers

Marcus Miller, Harold Goode and Harry Martin


Carl Cyrius, Takamasa Honda, David Isaac


Steve Hall


Kumiko Higo


Jack Frisch


For his second solo effort, Patches teamed with Producer/ Arranger Jim Beard. The result is PENETRATION, a wonderful CD of contemporary jazz. Once again, Patches’ trumpet will carry you through a range of emotions–and maybe even a surprise or two.

The roster of musicians lending their talent to Penetration is impressive indeed. One special guest is Patches’ former “boss”, Al Jarreau, who reinvents “My Funny Valentine” — you’ve never before heard this standard with a jungle beat!
Marcus Miller played bass on “Penetration (El Nino)” and “Patmos”; adding bass clarinet on the latter. And speaking of internationally respected bass players, Italy’s Saturnino flew to New York especially to lend his art to “Sarah”, an original song written by Patches.
And yes, that is Kenny Garrett on alto sax on “My Funny Valentine”, as well as Penetration (El Nino) and Patmos. Then there is Hiram, and Bill, and well, you get the picture…(see the complete list of musician credits below.)
So sit back and let the music PENETRATE your senses. . .
SAMPLES: Click on the song title to hear an MP3 clip:


  1. Sass
  2. Some Will Dream
  3. Fields of Gold
  4. Penetration (El Nino)
  5. Diana
  6. My Funny Valentine (featuring Al Jarreau)
  7. Patmos
  8. Sarah
  9. Pavane
  10. Cat ‘N Mouse


Michael “Patches” Stewart (Trumpet, Flugelhorn)

Jim Beard (Keyboards)

Hiram Bullock (Guitar)

Zach Danziger (Loop Drums)

Bill Evans (Tenor & Soprano Saxophone)

William Galison (Harmonica)

Kenny Garrett (Alto Saxophone)

James Genus (Acoustic Bass)

Jon Herington (Guitars)

Aaron Heick (Flute, Oboe, English Horn & Alto Sax)

Henry Hey (Additional Sample Programming)

Al Jarreau (Vocals on My Funny Valentine)

Marcus Miller (Bass, Bass Clarinet)

Adam Rogers (Guitars)

Saturnino (Bass)

Arto Tuncboyacian (Percussion)

Producer & Arranger:

Jim Beard

Executive Producer:

Massimo Gardel


Massimo Gardel

Blue Patches

This cool, elegant collection of accoustic standards evokes memories of dimly lit and smokey, romantic nightclubs. Yes, we’ve heard these songs before, but never like this. Patches may start out hip and jazzy, then become intimate, maybe adding a touch of blues, but it is clear he plays with ease and love.

“Fly Me to the Moon” features a fine vocal performance by Rebecka Tornqvist, a sultry-voiced singer from Sweden. Also noteworthy are special guest appearances by Saxophonist Gerald Albright, Drummer/Producer Lenny White, Pianist Jacky Terrasson and Bassist Charles Fambrough.

Announcers at Rochester, NY’s WGMC 90.1/105.1 FM Radio included “Blue Patches” in their Top 100 of 1997!



  1. In Your Own Sweet Way
  2. Stella By Starlight
  3. Caruso
  4. Pfrancing
  5. My Foolish Heart
  6. Fly Me To The Moon
  7. I Waited For You
  8. Alone Together
  9. One For Daddy-O


Michael “Patches” Stewart (Trumpet, Flugelhorn)

Rebecka Tornqvist (Vocals)

Gerald Albright (Saxophone)

Jacky Terrasson (Piano)

Lenny White (Drums)

Steve Wilson (Alto Saxophone)

Charles Fambrough (Bass)

Vince Evans (Keyboards)

Shelly Berg (Piano)

Adrian Rosen (Bass)

Bob Leatherbarrow (Drums)


Michael “Patches” Stewart (All Tracks except #6)

Lenny White (Track 6)

Executive Producer

Massimo Gardel


Paul Mitchell (All Tracks except #6)

Richard Keller (Track 6)


William Claxton